Department of Novel Drug Delivery Systems

General Information:
The research activities on novel drug delivery systems here in Iran Polymer and Petrochemical Institute (IPPI) began concurrently with the opening of IPPI in 1986, focusing mostly on microencapsulation also transdermal drug delivery systems. With the aim of strengthening its research works, however, NDDS department was officially formed in September 2000 under the division of Polymer Science Faculty. The research studies undertaken by NDDS Dept. with the objective of industrial application are categorized in 4 sets of works, and it is offered new products in the pharmaceutical market as well as enrichment of its academic practices and cooperation.

Research Areas:

  • Implantable Delivery Systems
  • Transdermal and Mucosal Delivery Systems
  • Biodegradable Delivery Systems
  • Specialties (Polymer and Drugs) Synthesis

  • Particulate and Injectable Delivery Systems

Equipment:

-          High Performance Thin Layer Chromatography (HPTLC)

-          High Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC)

-          Dissolution Tester

-          UV (Single and Double Beam)

-          Refractometer

-          ERWEKA Drive Unit

-          Spray Dryer

-          Sterilizer

-          Laboratory Centrifuges

-          Incubator & Ovens

-          Adhesion Parameters Analysis(Probe Tack Tester, Peel Strength ,Shear Tester & Rotary Sample Slitter)

-          Rotational Mixer

-          Film Applicator (Automatic, Manual)

-          Speed Mixer


Current Projects:

1- Insitu forming implant formulation for slow release of leuprolide acetate during one month

2- Formulation of implanted products used in the treatment of addiction, contraception and the release of corticosteroid anti-inflammatory drugs

3- Preparation of microcapsular systems for releasing aromatic substances for pharmaceutical, health and food applications

4- Preparation and evaluation of genetically modified gelatin nanoparticles using anticancer

5- Artemisinin passive and targeted drug delivery to Leishmania infected macrophages: in vitro evaluation

6- Synthesis of poly lactic acid applicable for laboratory-scale 3D printing for filaments

7- Monomer synthesis and precursors synthesis of furfural drug molecules in liquid phase

8- Formulations, optimization and industrial-scale production of livestock products (cattle and sheep) implants

9- Preparation and characterization of polymeric wound dressings

10- Preparation and characterization of microneedles

11-Providing technical knowledge of Ondansetron oral film on a semi-industrial scale


 

Faculty

Picture

first name

last name

order
email
Phone number

Farhid

Farahmand

Assistant Professor

f.farahmand@ippi.ac.ir

48662419


Mohammad

Imani

Associate Professor

m.imani@ippi.ac.ir

48662456


Ahmad

Jamshidi

Associate Professor

a.jamshidi@ippi.ac.ir

48662503


Farzad

Lahootifard

Assistant Professor

f.lahootifard@ippi.ac.ir

48662454


Hamid

Mahdavi

Assistant Professor

h.mahdavi@ippi.ac.ir

48662507


Arezoo

Mashak

Instructor

a.mashak@ippi.ac.ir

48662407


Hamid

Mobedi

Associate Professor

h.mobedi@ippi.ac.ir

44787036


S.Mojtaba

Taghizadeh

Associate Professor

s.m.taghizadeh@ippi.ac.ir

48662496


experts

Picture

first name

last name

Post
email
Phone number
  
  
Abbas
Abdul Maleki
laboratory technician

A.abdolmaleki@ippi.ac.ir

48662147
  
  
Farzaneh
Ahmad Khan Beigi
Expert

F.k hanbeigi@ippi.ac.ir

48662056
  
Fatemeh
Mohammadnia
Expert

F.mohammadnia@ippi.ac.ir

48662153